Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Murs Runs for President on New Album

(swiped from Pitchfork Media)

Murs is a man of simple tastes-- sex, booze, music, video games-- and he is forthcoming about them. Other than honesty, what do Americans want in a leader, except maybe political experience and some semblance of a plan? The L.A. MC may not have either of those last two qualities, but that hasn't stopped him from announcing his candidacy with the title of his forthcoming major label debut: Murs for President.

The record features guest appearances from Snoog Dogg, Will.I.Am (uh oh!), and Tyler Woods, plus production from 9th Wonder, Scoop DeVille, and Terrance Martin.

Warner Bros. will release Murs for President on September 30. Its first single, "Better Than the Best", is already available digitally. Another single is also in the works: a 12" featuring "Can It Be" on the A-side and "Me and This Jawn" on the B-side.

To tide us over until then, Murs has released his third full-length collaboration with 9th Wonder online for free. The record is called Sweet Lord, and you can download it here. What's more, Murs and the other seven MCs who comprise Living Legends hit us with their latest offering, an EP called The Gathering, this week via their own Legendary Music.

Murs' live itinerary is consumed by the traveling Rock the Bells festival this summer. His next date with the festival is in Miami on August 2.

Murs for President:
01 Intro
02 I'm Innocent
03 Lookin' Fly [ft. Will.I.Am]
04 The Science
05 Can It Be (Half a Million Dollars and 18 Months Later)
06 Everything
07 Road Is My Religion
08 Sooo Comfortable
09 Time Is Now [ft. Snoop Dogg]
10 Think You Know Me
11 Me and This Jawn
12 Love and Appreciate II [ft. Tyler Woods]
13 Apart of Me
14 Break Up (The OJ Song)
15 Breakthrough

Sweet Lord:
01 The Intro
02 Are You Ready?
03 Nina Ross
04 Free
05 And I Love It
06 Pusshhhhhh
07 It's for Real
08 Marry Me
09 Love the Way
10 Murs Inatra

08-02 Miami, FL - Bicentennial Park (Rock the Bells)
08-03 New York, NY - Jones Beach Amphitheater (Rock the Bells)
08-09 San Bernardino, CA - Glen Helen Pavilion (Rock the Bells)
08-16 San Francisco, CA - Shoreline Amphitheater (Rock the Bells)
08-23 Denver, CO - Fiddler's Green Amphitheater (Rock the Bells)
09-06 George, WA - The Gorge Amphitheater (Rock the Bells)

MP3: Murs and 9th Wonder: Sweet Lord [LP]
Video: Living Legends: She Wants Me [from the The Gathering LP]
Video: Murs: Better Than the Best [single; from the forthcoming Murs for President LP]

No comments: