Friday, August 08, 2008

Heltah Skeltah Leap Back Into Action As "Da Incredible Rap Team"

New album "D.I.R.T." In Stores September 30th On Duck Down Records.

Heltah Skeltah is the legendary rap duo comprised of Rock and Sean Price, a.k.a Ruck. The duo is most know for their debut album, "Nocturnal," which produced such hits as "Operation Lockdown," "Leflaur Leflah Eshkoshka," and "Therapy." Heltah Skeltah is also an intricate part of the mighty Boot Camp Clik, who over the past several years have released projects such as "The Last Stand," and "Casualties of War."

Since 2005, Sean Price, a.k.a. Ruck, 1/2 of Heltah Skeltah, has re-invented himself as a solo artist with projects such as "Monkey Barz" (2005), "Jesus Price Supastar" (Winter 2007) and his "Master P" Mixtape (Summer 2007). Sean P's newfound fans aren't aware at times that he is also RUCK from Heltah Skeltah; "At shows kids will approach me to my face and ask how Ruck is doing...I just respond with he's chillen," says Sean Price. Fans who have come to love Sean Price for his witty delivery, bluntness, and incredible knack for word-play, can expect the same P!!!! in the new Heltah Skeltah album. Sean Price went on to say "there's only one way I know how to rhyme and that is to straight body the mic and the verse."

Rock, the second half of Heltah Skeltah, has made headlines recently as he's battling an attempted murder charge, as well as being accused of pimping. In one of the opening lines from the album Rock proclaims "I'm out on bail, fresh out of jail, Brownsville scheming, y’all want to see me up North, but I'm down the hill creeping." Since his release, the main place Rock has been creeping to is the studio, as he just released his critically-acclaimed Mixtape "Shell Shock," while at the same time completing the Heltah Skeltah album.

For Heltah Skeltah fans, and hardcore Hip Hop enthusiasts, the new "D.I.R.T." album will serve as a breath of fresh air. With production from Khrysis, Marco Polo, Evidence, ILL MIND, Black Milk, Sic Beats, and more, as well as guest appearances from fellow Duck Down artists, Buckshot, Smif N Wessun, Ruste Juxx, and The Representativz, Ruck and Rock stuck to their proven formula and sound. Sean Price states: "We didn't try and get cute with this album and pick some 'out da box' beats and get on some philosophy sh*t. We did what we knew best and that was rhyme about the street, while of course infusing the humor that you know you're going to get when you listen to our rhymes."

One of the lead singles from “D.I.R.T.” is the ILL MIND produced track "EVERYTHING IS HELTAH SKELTAH."

Tracklisting and credits for Heltah Skeltah’s “D.I.R.T” (Tentative):

1.) Intro
2.) Insane (Produced by Marco Polo)
3.) Chipmunk 3000 (Produced by Fatim)
4.) Everything Is Heltah Skeltah (Produced by ILL MIND)
5.) D.I.R.T. (Another Boot Camp Clik Yeah Song) (Produced by Khrysis)
6.) So Damn Tough f/Buckshot and Ruste Juxx (Produced by ILL MIND)
7.) WMD f/Smif N Wessun (Produced by M-Phazes)
8.) That’s Incredible (Produced by EZ Mo Bee)
9.) Ape Muzik f/ The Representativz (Produced by Stu Bangas)
10.) The Art of Disrespekanization (Produced by Khrysis)
11.) Hellz Kitchen (Produced by Evidence)
12.) Shmack Muzik (Produced by Sic Beats)
13.) Twinz (Produced by Ken Ring)
14.) Ruck N Roll (Produced by Stu Bangas)

For more information, visit the Duck Down Records website here.

Listen to "Everything Is Heltah Skeltah" (Produced by Illmind) by pressing play:

No comments: